Along the Avenue des Gobelins, demonstrating a characteristic architecture of the early twentieth century, the Galerie des Gobelins was, from its construction, for the exhibition of the collections of the National Furniture and creations of Manufactures. The building, built by Jean-Camille Formigé from 1910 to 1913, replacing the old museum Goblin whose rooms burned and several workshops during the Commune (1871).
The gallery presents changing of old and contemporary art in relation to the National Furniture, Manufactures and crafts exhibitions.
The site also houses, in addition to workshops on active high-warp tapestry of Gobelins, some of those in the factory sill Beauvais, moved to Paris in 1940, and the carpet factory for Soaps, meeting in the Gobelins in 1825.
Sièges en Société - Du Roi-Soleil à Marianne
25/04/17 - 24/09/17